STARS Committee Reports

Codes, Guidelines, and Technical Standards Committee
The Codes, Guidelines, and Technical Standards Committee has completed work on the initial revised drafts for the Interlibrary Loan Code for the United States and the Explanatory Supplement and submitted them to Tina Baich for distribution to the STARS Executive Committee. We plan on submitting them to the RUSA Standards and Guidelines Committee by late May 2015, and we project that approved drafts will be ready for general comment by the ILL community in late summer/early fall. Members of our group are providing updates on the revision process at various conferences we each attend. This past quarter, our committee also completed a review and revision of the ShareILL Codes and Guidelines web page.

Brian Miller, Chair

ILL Committee
The ILL Committee will be meeting in San Francisco and is sponsoring a program. This program will be held on Sunday, June 28 from 1-2PM in MCC – 2002 and is titled “Acquisitions, Collection Development, Electronic Resources, and ILL, Oh My!: Connecting Users to What They Want!” It will be a great presentation, so make sure to attend!

Both Co-Chairs will be rotating off the Committee this year, so a new Chair will need to be elected.

Carol Kochan, Co-Chair

STARS Education and Training Committee
In January, the Education and Training committee hosted the 8th annual “Everything You Always Wanted to Know about ILL” workshop at the University of Chicago, during ALA Midwinter 2015. The workshop featured presentations on Borrowing, Lending, Copyright, and Assessment & Statistics by Megan Gaffney, Karen Janke, Cindy Kristof, and Collette Mak, respectively.

Lars Leon’s Emerging Leaders proposal, which would have supported the migration of to a new platform, made it to the final proposal pool, but was not selected. The Education and Training committee is currently working with Linda Frederiksen on selecting a new host for

Kristen Palmiere, Chair

STARS Rethinking Resource Sharing Policies Committee
The Rethinking Resource Sharing Policies Committee has continued to work on creating Version 2 of the ALA RUSA STARS Rethinking Resource Sharing STAR Checklist. Version 2 has been approved by the RUSA Stars Executive Board and the Rethinking Resource Sharing Initiative Steering Committee. We expect to have it available on the Rethinking Resource Sharing Initiative website for libraries to use by June 2015. We will meet at ALA Annual Conference to plan promotion and training events.

Sue Kaler, Chair

STARS Research and Assessment Committee
The Research and Assessment Committee is working on plans for the ALA pre-conference and is in the last stages of organization. Since Mid-Winter, they have finalized assessments for all STARS sponsored sessions through Annual 2014. We are currently working on assessments for Mid-Winter 2015. Finally, Krista Higham has been elected co-chair for next year.

Bethany Sewell & David Ketchum, Co-Chairs

STARS Legislation and Licensing Committee
The Committee has met via conference call and finished drafting a survey that will be sent to STARS Members on May 18, 2015. The very brief survey will help us to determine the future directions of the committee, including whether we should continue or disband, and we hope that all STARS members will participate. We will collect responses through June 6 and plan to have a report prepared before the ALA Annual meeting.

Sherri Michaels, Chair

Atlas Systems Mentoring Award Committee
The Sharing and Transforming Access to Resources Section (STARS) of ALA has selected the winner of the 2015 Atlas Systems Mentoring Award, Karen Thomas, access services librarian at Krauskopf Library, Delaware Valley College, as this year’s recipient as she has demonstrated a passion and need for professional development, networking, education and service to her local community. Sponsored by Atlas Systems, Inc., the award offers $1,250 to a library practitioner new to the field of ILL and resource sharing to fund travel expenses to the ALA Annual Conference in San Francisco.

Amy Paulus, Chair